is the ingredient red 40 only made from beetles(carmine) or can it be made from vegan sources too?!
It could be beetles but they go out in nature and find living natural things that can color something and so it could be beetles or a plant or another type of bug. YUCK!!!
If it is the same red colour as we have in Europe, yes it is made with beetles. Check the USA colour regulations and it may be able to tell you more information.
European Colours in food legislation