What can vegetarians eat?!

Question: What can vegetarians eat?
Specifically lacto ovo vegetarians, sorry I am trying to become a vegetarian and would like to know.

Obviously not meat....

Sorry if you find this question to be "dumb". -__-


Beans are an important part of a vegetarian diet. They are a good source of protein and make a complete protein in combination with rice, corn, or another grain. You should eat a variety of different beans. Go to any large grocery store and look for canned beans in the canned vegetable aisle and start trying different kinds. Black, pinto, kidney, chick peas, etc.
Dark green leafy vegetables such as: spinach, broccoli, kale, collard greens, Swiss chard, beet greens, etc. are also important. They are a good source of calcium and iron.
Eggs are a good source of protein, but are high in cholesterol so no more that 2 per day and no more than 7 per week.
Eat a variety of fruits and vegetables. Try to eat every color of the rainbow in fruits and veggies every week.
Go easy on high fat proteins such as peanut butter and cheese. Also, many cheeses, esp. hard cheeses are made with animal rennet which is a slaughter byproduct. Research the internet for more information about that because most cheese packages will only say enzymes in the ingredient list without telling you if the enzymes are a slaughter byproduct or not. Some yogurts also contain rennet.
Yes, some processed foods like gummy worms contain gelatin, which in obtained from animal bones.

How about lets start out with things vegetarians can't eat, because it's a shorter list. Depending on what you go vegetarian for, some just cut out meat. I don't any meat, fish, or any bi-product from slaughtered animals. These bi-products from slaughtered animals are gelatin, animal lards, gravies and broths that contain natural/real animal flavorings, and fish/oyster sauce. Look on the labels of anything you can buy. If it isn't meat and doesn't contain those, then it is vegetarian safe.

Basically, you're going to have to get used to reading packages. If you google online you'll learn what ingredients you need to avoid. If you want a complete list of processed food its impossible, but all sorts of surprising foods are vegetarian...I just found out my local supermarket does doughnuts which are actually suitable for vegans, which gives me a happy cos I love the occasional junk food moment. But leaving aside junk food for a sec, if you want to be a healthy vegetarian, you need to base your meals around healthy foods. Firstly, carbs are not your enemy, but make sure you go for wholemeal/wholewheat versions...so wholemeal breads, wholegrain rice and pasta, things like that. These foods are loaded with nutrients and full of fibre so excellent to keep you full. Then, you want to eat a rainbow of fruit and veg every day...picking different colours means you get lots of varied nutrients. Nuts and seeds are excellent sources of healthy fats and protein, some are rich in calcium, iron and magnesium too. Beans and lentils are also fantastic, and all the products made from them like tofu and beanburgers and the like. As you will still be taking eggs and dairy, I'm presuming, they will make up part of your diet too.

Basically, if you eat heathily, you'll be a happy and fit vegetarian. If you live off junk food and meat replacements, you'll get ill and then turn your back on vegetarianism denouncing it as "unhealthy".

http://www.veggieboards.com are great sources to start off with, veggie boards has a list of things to avoid.

No it's definitely not a bad question. I have been a vegetarian for 3 years. A surprise is: u can't eat eggs. Anything that doesn't envolve killing an animal is alright. Tofu is soooo good when you add the right seasonings.

Everything that doesn't have meat in it
Cereal, breads salads mexican food italian food anything just substitute something else for the meat.

Vegetarians eat anything except meat or fish. Vegans don't eat any animal products, including dairy, eggs & honey.

The consumer Foods information on foodaq.com is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for medical advice or treatment for any medical conditions.
The answer content post by the user, if contains the copyright content please contact us, we will immediately remove it.
Copyright © 2007 FoodAQ - Terms of Use - Contact us - Privacy Policy

Food's Q&A Resources